Concerning Autumn

“There are some people, nevertheless — and I am one of them — who think that the most practical and important thing about a man is still his view of the universe.”

~ G.K. Chesterton

Sunday Breakfast:

PA250037

When you live with a German, you have to have potatoes.

PA250036

They’re no Haffner biscuits, but they’ll do.

PA250039

Hand cut bacon from Schubert’s – Millstadt, IL. One thing I’ve learned, midwest butchers know how to cut pig.

PA250041

Guess who washes these after breakfast?

PA170022

Wash it down with some Trader Joe’s Sumatra in a familiar yellow mug. Mmm, tasty.

Really, it’s too bad we don’t live in Redwall. Otherwise, we’d enjoy an Autumn feast of the following:

Care to try some of the recipes? They’re all real, and most are available at The Redwall Kitchen

211_Bungo-Denise

On The Bookshelf:

214-1

Wife has been meaning to read this for a while (it was her grandfather’s favorite novel), and after a good friend personally recommended that we read the series, we’ve decided to plug away at it little by little. Somehow it didn’t occur to us immediately that the rather meaty 850 page book we started was the third, not the first, of the series.

My bad.

Worth A Look:

shapeimage_3

Marie-Isabelle Callier is actually a mother of one of my students. Along with being a wonderful dedicated parent, she is a writer and illustrator of a small series of children’s books.

gateaux

She’s hoping to have what she has already published translated into English and has more in progress. I really love what has been printed already. They are all roughly centered around three children – twin boys and an older sister – who strangely enough look similar to Calier’s own children.

In the iPod:

36

Brandi Carlile\’s Give Up the Ghost was released on a day I just happened to be checking up on my itunes. This particular album is a just a tad more reserved especially for Carlile who, at her best, is known for her distinctly robust vocals and knock-out delivery.

She was first introduced to mainstream (or maybe just to me) in a series of American auto commercials, and hasn’t lost ground since. The style suggests that she fancies herself a female disciple of Johnny Cash with perhaps the legacy and success that Lisa Marie Presley was looking for.

brandi-carlile-web

At worst she can be a bit over the top, melodramatic enough to betray her age, and in more than one instance her vocals could use some restraint.

Overall though, I like the album a lot.

Maybe it’s just me, but I hear a little bit of Nashville in her sound. You can’t help but respect her unapologetic style, confidence, and vocal power. Almost all her songs sound like covers. One way or another there’s something familiar about this album, and anything that reminds me this much of home is worth the buy

Autumn inevitably means:

PA130030.

Of course I’m a big fan of cigars. But between Halloween and Thanksgiving I put down the cigar cutter and dedicate some time to the pipe. There are few genuine fall activities that cannot be accompanied by a pipe filled with a hearty latakia, strong English, mellow Virginia, or sweet Aromatic.

So What’s Smoke’n?

I’m frequently switching mixtures to find out which one is best suited for my bulldog pipe, but I keep on coming back to And So to Bed by Esoterica Tobacciana. Concerning its flavor profile, Tobaccoreviews.com had the following description:

Finest grade Virginia and Maryland type tobaccos are carefully aged and blended with Greek “Oriental” leaf and top-grade Cyprian Latakia. the blend is then specially processed and additionally matured to produce a mellow full strength smoke with rich flavor and unique aroma.

_cfimg-7463754818033977050.PNG

If I want to smoke something that has knockout power I’d smoke a strong Churchill, but when choosing strictly pipe leaf I tend to stay closely on the mild side. This mixture is no exception with a delicate aroma, just enough complexity, sweet taste, and slow burn. I’d like to eventually make my own mixtures, but in the meantime this will do quite nicely.

4 Responses to “Concerning Autumn”

  1. Chesterton, Pipes, and Stirling’s I expected. But I never saw Redwall coming.

    :::claps:::

    I tip my hat to you, sir.

    :::tips hat:::

  2. Well, you should have DEFINITELY seen BACON a mile away.

    Mmm… bacon.

  3. Love Ms. Callier’s paintings, too. Or do I? Maybe that’s just the Bologna talking.

  4. I don’t think meat’s supposed to catch on fire like that.

Leave a Reply

